Rick Perry, killer with tender emotions

by J.A. Myerson

So, did everyone see when the Tea Party folks cheered raucously and in a sustained fashion for the death of a hypothetical sick man?

This apparently rattled Rick Perry.

Yeah, well, he didn’t object to it at the time. He didn’t get the clue that this was actually the party of death when he recently drew similarly enthusiastic approbation by bragging about the number of people he killed.

Nothing about the fact that many of these people were innocent appears to have offended anyone in attendance that night.

But Perry himself is very easily offended, as he confessed last night in this exchange with Michelle Bachmann, who was attacking him for state-mandated HPV vaccines, of all things.

That led to a low point for Perry, when he defended himself this way: “The company was Merck, and it was a $5,000 contribution that I had received from them. I raise about $30 million, and if you’re saying that I can be bought for $5,000, I’m offended.”

Bachmann shot back: “Well I’m offended for all the little girls and the parents that didn’t have a choice.”

People who think they’ve made a point by saying, “I’m offended” suck. I’ve written before about people who think that feeling offended entitles them to something. But Stephen Fry does the best job, as always:

