Mother Teresa Misremembered

by J.A. Myerson

So it’s her 101’s birthday, and people are celebrating.

I think the disparity between Mother Teresa’s fawning reputation and the actual moral standing she exhibited is greater than any other person who ever lived. The best argument for why she is to be considered a villain-ess rather than a heroine was made, of course, by Christopher Hitchens in his customarily meanly titled 1998 monograph The Missionary Position: Mother Teresa in Theory and Practice, which I’d urge everyone to read.

If you haven’t got the time, or it just isn’t for you, you might instead check out his short film polemic, Hell’s Angel, embedded here for your viewing pleasure or disturbance.

Part I:

Part II:

Part III:

Do let’s remember her for her words rather than the mythology surrounding her. The thesis of her Nobel Peace Prize acceptance speech: “I feel the greatest destroyer of peace today is abortion.” It may seem that I exaggerate, but it is the truth, I swear, as God himself would verify, were he still alive. Here’s the audio.

